DC Comics’ Upcoming Superhero Films Are All Connected

By December 27, 2014

When it was annouced earlier this year that the forthcoming movies from Warner Bros. based on the characters of DC Comics would be released through 2020, some outlets and fans had speculated that certain films on the slate, particularly Shazam starring Dwayne “The Rock Johnson” as the villainous Black Adam, would not take place within a completely shared universe. While 2016’s Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice will feature a shared world featuring the Justice League characters, it was believed by some that certain characters would be off-limits for the more connected world that would be spinning out of 2013’s Superman reboot Man of Steel.

We now know that this is not the case, straight from the horse’s mouth. In an official blog post on DC Comics’ website, the publisher seems to have officially confirmed that the full DC Comics film slate — including properties like Suicide SquadShazamThe FlashJustice LeagueCyborg, and Green Lantern — do in fact all take place in the same world. It reads,

For fans who were hoping to see a DC Cinematic Universe similar to what they’ve seen from other publishers, one that included super heroes other than Superman or Batman, there didn’t seem to be a lot to talk about. That changed on October 15, 2014, when Warner Bros. revealed a full slate of ten DC Entertainment feature films all set within the same universe.

This opens up a wealth of possibilities as far as striking different tones between various characters and worlds, which the DC Comics Universe already does very effectively. For comic book movie fans, having the competition out there has the potential to serve as a large boon for superhero cinema, and it will be very interesting to see how all of the forthcoming DC Comics-based films shake out.

The DC Cinematic Universe begins in earnest in 2016, when director Zack Snyder’s Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, starring Henry Cavill as Clark Kent/Superman, Ben Affleck as Bruce Wayne/Batman, and Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman, is released on March 25th, 2016. It will be followed closely thereafter by director David Ayer’s Suicide Squad, starring Will Smith as Deadshot, Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn, Tom Hardy as Rick Flag, and Jared Leto as the Joker, and will be released on August 5th, 2016. For more on the DC Cinematic Universe as it develops, keep an eye on GeekNation!

(h/t JoBlo)

The following two tabs change content below.
Chris Clow
As a former comics retailer at a store in the Pacific Northwest, Chris Clow is an enormous sci-fi, comics, and film geek. He is a freelance contributor, reviewer, podcaster, and overall geek to GeekNation, Batman-On-Film.com, The Huffington Post, and Movies.com. He also hosts the monthly Comics on Consoles broadcast and podcast. Check out his blog, and follow him on Twitter @ChrisClow.