‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ Added To ‘Critics Choice Awards’ List of Best Picture Nominees

By December 22, 2015

The Force is strong in the BFCA.

The Broadcast Film Critics Association has made Star Wars: The Force Awakens a last minute addition to the list of Best Picture nominees for this year’s Critics’ Choice Awards, making the number of nominees go from 10 to 11. Insert Spinal Tap joke here.

As part of the massive secrecy surrounding The Force Awakens, the film was not screened for critics until after the premiere which occurred after the deadline for nominations. But after considerable praise and outcry from critics, the choice was made to do a last minute poll to see if the critics would have voted for the film had they seen it earlier. Apparently the critics fell in love with Rey the same way I did and the film was officially added to the nominees for Best Picture. While this seems unheard of, the same addition was apparently made for Cast Away when that came out.

The film has not been added to any of the other categories as of yet and I don’t believe it will, which still puts into question its Oscar chances, but not everything is about the Oscars so I am quite content for the time being. But with blockbusters like Mad Max: Fury Road and The Martian already deep into awards season against the usual Indie fare, it should be interesting to see how things shift now that Star Wars has entered the conversation.

The 21st Annual Critics’ Choice Awards will air on January 17th at 8pm EST on A&E.

Make sure you check back for more updates — right here on GeekNation.

The following two tabs change content below.
Matt Brown

Matt Brown

Contributing Writer at GeekNation
Matt is a writer of all sorts and a film addict who's still waiting for his Hogwarts acceptance letter. If you find him at a party, he's probably talking about Xena or doing a Nicolas Cage impression.